February 19, 2013

Ted Awarded Prestigious ASCPT Prize

Ted Grasela, PharmD, PhD, is the recipient of the prestigious Gary Neil Prize for Innovation in Drug Development from the American Society for Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics (ASCPT). He will accept the award at the March 2013 ASCPT Annual Meeting in Indianapolis.

Established in 2004 to honor the memory of Gary Neil, PhD, former Executive Vice President of Worldwide Research and Development at Wyeth–Ayerst, the award acknowledges people and teams leading scientific breakthroughs in clinical drug development.

Dr. Grasela is President, CEO, and Cofounder of Cognigen Corporation. Over the past 24 years, Dr. Grasela has advanced pharmaceutical studies in modeling and simulation. He was an early advocate of population pharmacokinetic analysis methodology, and his collaborative projects with the pharmaceutical industry have helped increase awareness of the value of pharmacometrics in drug development.

An active member of ASCPT since 1983, Dr. Grasela participates on the Drug Development and Regulatory Sciences and Pharmacometrics and Pharmacokinetics Scientific Sections. He is a fellow of the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists, where he is chair of the Clinical Pharmacology and Translational Medicine section. Dr. Grasela is also a member of the International Society of Pharmacoepidemiology.

A widely published author, Dr. Grasela has written and cowritten more than 200 journal articles, poster presentations, and book chapters. He is a longtime faculty member and PhD graduate of the State University of New York at Buffalo, where he serves as Adjunct Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences in the School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences and as Senior Fellow in Entrepreneurship in the School of Management. Dr. Grasela earned his PharmD from the Philadelphia College of Pharmacy and Science and completed a residency in Clinical Pharmacy and a fellowship in Clinical Pharmacology at the University of California, San Francisco.

Previous winners of the Gary Neil Prize include Carl C. Peck, MD; Lawrence J. Lesko, PhD; Nicholas H.G. Holford, MBChB; and Janet Woodcock, MD.



You have chosen to email the article entitled:

Ted Awarded Prestigious ASCPT Prize

Your Name:     * Your Email:    *

Friends Name: * Friends Email: *


Please enter the word you see in the image below:



* = Required Field

Commenting is not available for this article.